Archived Version: August 17, 2010

An information resource for Washington voters



Show My Elections

Supreme Court

Court of Appeals

Ratings and Endorsements

Media Stories

Candidates A-Z

Judges A-Z

Voting for Judges: FAQ


Election Archives

Support VotingforJudges

Clark County


Washington Supreme Court

Supreme Court justices are elected to six-year terms by voters throughout the entire state. There are nine Supreme Court justices, and Washington residents will vote for three in 2010.

Supreme Court candidates appear on the primary election ballot on August 17, 2010. If a candidate receives more than 50% of the votes cast in the primary, that candidate appears on the general election ballot without opposition. If no candidate receives more than 50% in the primary, the top two candidates appear on the general election ballot on November 2, 2010.

Position 1: Jim Johnson is the incumbent. He is being challenged by Stan Rumbaugh. This contest will be decided in the Primary.

Position 5: Barbara Madsen is the incumbent. She is running for re-election without opposition.

Barbara Madsen

Barbara Madsen

Position 6: Richard Sanders is the incumbent. He is being challenged by Bryan Chushcoff and Charlie Wiggins.


Court of Appeals

Division Two, District Three

(Clark, Cowlitz, Lewis, Pacific, Skamania, and Wahkiakum Counties)

District Three elects two judges; Position 2 will be on the 2010 ballot.

C.C. Bridgewater is the incumbent Position 2 judge. Joe Daggy and Jill Johanson have filed for this position.

Joe Daggy

Joe Daggy

Jill Johanson

Jill Johanson


Superior Court

Superior Court judges are elected to four-year terms; most were elected in 2008, and their terms extend through the end of 2012.

Rich Melnick was appointed this year to fill a vacancy in Department 5. Because nobody filed against him, he received a Certificate of Election after filing week. The position will not appear on the ballot.


District Court

District Court judges are elected to four-year terms, and all District Court positions are up for election in 2010.

There are no contested District Court elections in the county this year. The following incumbent candidates have filed for re-election:

Position 1: Vernon Schreiber
Position 2: James Swanger
Position 3: Darvin Zimmerman
Position 4: Sonya Langsdorf
Position 5: Kelli Osler
Position 6: John Hagensen, P.O. Box 1460, Silverdale, WA  98383
Write to

As the election approaches, will include ratings and endorsements from numerous organizations. We provide this information so that voters will be better informed about the candidates. We do not rate or endorse any candidates; the ratings and endorsements of organizations included at this site reflect the views of those individual organizations and not necessarily the views of or its sponsors.